News

From March 8th to 9th, 2017, the final meeting of the BMBF funding initiative „Photonic Processes and Tools for Resource-Efficient Lightweight Construction“ took place at the Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH) and the Produktionstechnisches Zentrum Hannover (PZH). More than 100 participants met, presented and discussed the results of the nine research groups involved in the collective.

“The results gained within the framework of this collective provide us with important tools for photonic lightweight construction of the future,” says Dr. Peter Jäschke, coordinator of the BMBF funding initiative. “We have strengthened existing cooperation and laid the foundation for new cooperative efforts. This will help us promote lightweight construction outside the boundaries of our collective.”

In the upcoming year the “Symposium Photonischer Leichtbau” will be the new platform to continue the work. The symposium will take place from March 14th to 15th 2018 in Hannover. More information will follow shortly.

 

 

ICALEO-LogoFrom 16 – 20 October 2016, the 35th International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO®), one of the most important international conferences on laser material processing, took place in San Diego, CA/USA. The coordinator of the BMBF funding initiative “Photonic Lightweight Construction”, Dr.-Ing. Peter Jaeschke, presented the initiative and the corresponding cooperative projects in the course of a Sub Plenary talk. Moreover, a special session was initiated for the initiative („Photonics for Light Weight Construction“), in which expert presentations of the participating cooperative projects were held.

 

 

eccm17_logoFrom 26 – 30 June 2016, the 17th European Conference on Composite Materials (ECCM 2016) took place in Munich, Germany. Here, the BMBF funding initiative “Photonic Lightweight Construction” was presented by the coordinator, Dr.-Ing. Peter Jaeschke, in a talk. The programme of the next ECCM conference can be found here.

 

 

Ei Ausbruch 06From 15 – 16 June 2016, the 10th international CFK-Valley Stade Convention took place at the STADEUM in Stade, Germany. The motto of this year’s event was “Carbon & Mobility”. You can find the program here.
Parallel to the Convention, there was an exhibition, at which the Laser Zentrum Hannover (LZH) was represented at exhibition stand no. 5 (Exhibition Space B). As coordinator of the BMBF funding initiative “Photonic Lightweight Construction”, LZH presented the different cooperative projects of the initiative here.

 

Cooperative Projects

Acutally, 9 cooperative projects are funded in the course of the call “Photonic Methods and Tools for Ressource-Efficient Lightweight Construction”.

Motivation

From Manufactory to Series Production
– Photonic Tools for Lightweight Structures

 

The efficient use of limited resources is one of the major challenges of our time. Against this background, lightweight construction concepts are getting more and more important in today’s traffic industry, in particular automotive and aircraft industry. In order to achieve a widespread use of lightweight materials, it is necessary to develop new processing methods as well as testing and measurement procedures for a large variety of materials, which would allow for the realization of an economically efficient, flexible and automated high volume production. Here, photonic methods, especially laser material processing technologies, provide adequate solutions. The high flexibility and especially the contact-free, wear-free interaction mechanism of laser radiation with matter provides advantages with respect to the machining of materials, which cause notable tool wear if processed with conventional machining methods. The possibility of a strongly localized energy deposition, customized for the respective production requirements, opens up new opportunities for the machining of temperature-sensitive materials. By means of the funding initiative “Photonic Processes and Tools for Resource-Efficient Lightweight Construction” in the course of the programme “Photonics Research Germany”, it is the goal of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) to overcome existing barriers with respect to widespread introduction of lightweight materials into high volume production. For research work in 9 cooperative projects, the BMBF provides almost 30 million euros in total.

 

f7e37c57f3

Neuigkeiten

Vom 8. bis zum 9. März 2017 fand am Laser Zentrum Hannover e.V. (LZH) sowie am Produktionstechnischen Zentrum Hannover (PZH) die Abschlusstagung des BMBF-Verbandes „Photonische Verfahren und Werkzeuge für den ressourceneffizienten Leichtbau“ statt. Mehr als 100 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer kamen zusammen, um die Ergebnisse der neun an dem Verband beteiligten Forschungsverbünde vorzustellen und zu diskutieren.

„Die im Rahmen des Verbandes erlangten Erkenntnisse geben uns wichtige Werkzeuge für den photonischen Leichtbau der Zukunft in die Hand“, fasst Dr. Peter Jäschke, Koordinator des BMBF-Verbandes zusammen. „Wir haben alte Kooperationen verfestigt und den Grundstein gelegt, für neue. Damit können wir den Leichtbau über die Verbandarbeit hinaus gezielt weiter vorantreiben.“

Im kommenden Jahr soll das „Symposium Photonischer Leichtbau“ die neue Plattform werden, um diese Arbeit weiter fortzuführen. Das Symposium findet am 14. und 15. März 2018 in Hannover statt. Nähere Informationen hierzu werden in Kürze veröffentlicht.

 

 

ICALEO-LogoVom 16. – 20. Oktober 2016 findet der 35. International Congress on Applications of Lasers & Electro-Optics (ICALEO®), eine der wichtigsten internationalen Konferenzen zur Lasermaterialbearbeitung, in San Diego, Kalifornien/USA, statt. Der Koordinator des Verbandes „Photonischer Leichtbau“, Herr Dr.-Ing. Peter Jäschke, wird dort im Rahmen eines Vortrags (Sub Plenary) den Verband vorstellen. Darüber hinaus wurde eine eigene Session für den Verband initiiert („Photonics for Light Weight Construction“), in der Fachvorträge aus den beteiligten Forschungsverbünden stattfinden werden.

 

 

Ei Ausbruch 06Vom 15. – 16. Juni 2016 fand im STADEUM in Stade die 10. internationale CFK-Valley Stade Convention statt. Das Motto der diesjährigen Veranstaltung lautete „Carbon & Mobility“. Das Programm finden Sie hier.
Parallel zur Convention gab es eine Ausstellung, auf der das Laser Zentrum Hannover (LZH) auf dem Ausstellungsstand Nr. 5 (Exhibition Space B) vertreten war. Als Koordinator des Verbandes „Photonischer Leichtbau“ hat das LZH dort die verschiedenen Verbundprojekte des Verbandes präsentiert.

 

 

eccm17_logoVom 26. – 30. Juni fand in München die 17. Europäische Konferenz für Kompositwerkstoffe (17th European Conference on Composite Materials – ECCM 2016) statt. Hier wurde der Verband „Photonischer Leichtbau“ vom Koordinator, Herrn Dr.-Ing. Peter Jäschke, in einem Vortrag vorgestellt. Das Programm der Konferenz finden Sie hier.

 

Verbundprojekte im Verband

Derzeit werden 9 Verbundprojekte im Rahmen der Ausschreibung „Photonische Verfahren und Werkzeuge für den ressourceneffizienten Leichtbau“ vom BMBF gefördert.

Motivation

Von der Manufaktur zur Serienfertigung
– Photonische Werkzeuge für den Leichtbau

 

Der effiziente Umgang mit begrenzten Ressourcen ist eine der großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit. Vor diesem Hintergrund finden in der Verkehrsindustrie, insbesondere der Automobil- und Luftfahrtindustrie, Leichtbaukonzepte heute schon vielfach Anwendung. Um jedoch einen breiten Einsatz von Leichtbaumaterialien zu erreichen, fehlt es derzeit für eine Vielzahl neuer Materialien noch an geeigneten Bearbeitungs-, Prüf- und Messverfahren, um eine wirtschaftliche, flexible und automatisierte Fertigung in der Großserie umsetzen zu können. Photonische Verfahren bieten hier Lösungen: Die hohe Flexibilität und insbesondere die berührungslose, verschleißfreie Wirkungsweise des Lasers bietet Vorteile für die Bearbeitung von Werkstoffen, deren konventionelle Bearbeitung mit einem hohen Werkzeugverschleiß einhergeht. Die Möglichkeit der lokalen und für die jeweilige Fertigungsanforderung maßgeschneiderten Energieeinbringung eröffnet für die Bearbeitung temperaturempfindlicher Werkstoffe neue Möglichkeiten. Mit der Fördermaßnahme „Photonische Verfahren und Werkzeuge für den ressourceneffizienten Leichtbau“ im Rahmen des Programms „Photonik Forschung Deutschland” verfolgt das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) das Ziel, bestehende Hemmnisse bei der breiten Einführung von Leichtbaumaterialien in die Großserienfertigung zu überwinden. Für die Forschungsarbeiten in derzeit 9 Verbundprojekten stellt das BMBF insgesamtknapp 30 Mio. € zur Verfügung.

 

f7e37c57f3